Where Does the Palace on Wheels Train Run?

Palace on Wheels is a luxury train that covers the desert state of Rajasthan and surrounding region. The train was inaugurated in 1982 and it is still one of the most important luxury trains of India. The train has one single itinerary, which is considered as a cliche luxury destination route.

Entered service 26 January 1982, 37 years ago
Operator(s) Indian Railways
Line(s) served Delhi – Jaipur – Sawai Madhopur – Chittorgarh – Udaipur – Jaisalmer – Jodhpur – Bharatpur – Agra – Delhi

Read More: How Much Does Palace on Wheels Tour Cost in India?Renovated Palace on Wheels

Explore More: Palace on Wheels images

The Route of Palace on Wheels

The train provides one signature itinerary that spreads for seven nights eight days. The train tour starts and ends in Delhi railway station. During the itinerary, the train covers Jaipur, Jaisalmer, Ranthambore National Park, Udaipur, Jodhpur, Chittorgarh, Bharatpur and Agra, before reaching back to Delhi.

Starting Station: Safdarjung Railway Station, New Delhi

Ending Station: Safdarjung Railway Station, New Delhi

A separate platform is designated for the train. Once you reach the platform, the attenders or the butlers will assist you in finding the right cabin.

Palace on Wheels Route

Palace on Wheels Route Map

Check the Palace on Wheels Route

Day One, Delhi:

The train tour does not include Delhi sightseeing. The trip starts from the Delhi railway station and from there, the train covers a series of tourist attractions.

Day Two, Jaipur:

On the very second day, the train covers 308 km and reaches Jaipur, Rajasthan. At the Jaipur station, the train halts for 1185 minutes, when the tourists are taken for sightseeing at various regions in Jaipur.

Also Read:  Ranthambore National Park- The Home of Royal Bengal Tigers

Day Three, Sawai Madhopur:

On the third day, the train would have travelled a total of 440 km from Delhi and reached Sawai Madhopur. The trip is very short and the train stops at the station for just 300 minutes while the tourists go for sightseeing and safari at the Ranthambore National Park.

On the same day, the train reaches Chittorgarh (892 km travelled from Delhi) where it halts for 600 minutes for a quick city tour.

Day Four, Udaipur:

By the fourth day, the Palace on Wheels would have covered 1006 km in total and halt at Udaipur station for 450 minutes.

Day Five, Jaisalmer:

This is the Golden City and one of the highlight destinations of the tour. The train halts for 870 minutes while tourists enjoy sightseeing, camel rides, desert activities and others.

Day Six, Jodhpur:

The train touches 1643 km when it reaches Jodhpur station. The tourists get down for sightseeing while the train halts at the station for 510 minutes.

Day Seven, Bharatpur and Agra:

The train stops at Bharatpur station for 945 minutes while tourists enjoy the Bharatpur bird sanctuary. From Bharatpur, the train reaches Agra, the final tourist destination of the trip. At Agra station, the train halts for 750 minutes.

Day Eight, Delhi:

The train reaches New Delhi station and that marks the end of the trip. After breakfast, tourists are guided to de-board the train.

Read More: What is the Fare of Palace on Wheels Train?

Also Read: Palace on Wheels Itinerary

Train Number and Station Route

The train number of Palace on Wheels is 123456.

Also Read:  Virtual Trip of 14 Palace on Wheels Coaches
Day Station Name Arrival Departure
1. New Delhi Station 18:30 HRS
2. Jaipur Station 02:00 HRS 20:00 HRS
3. Sawai Madhopur Station 04:45 HRS 10:00 HRS
4. Chittorgarh Station 10:20 HRS 20:00 HRS
5. Udaipur Station 2:00 HRS 16:00 HRS
6. Jaisalmer Station 07:30 HRS 23:45 HRS
7. Jodhpur Station 07:00 HRS 19:30 HRS
8. Bharatpur Station 06:00 HRS 09:00 HRS
9. Agra Station 09:00 HRS 20:45 HRS
10. New Delhi Station 02:30 HRS  07:30 HRS

Also Read: This September, Palace on Wheels is Coming with New Look

Find Here: Palace on Wheels schedule

Train Speed and Distance

The train tour covers 1372 miles throughout its journey in eight days and seven nights. The average speed of the train is 17 km per hour. The speed is specifically kept at lower limit to aid ease of tourist movements and entertainments inside the train.

Know More: How to Book Palace on Wheels Train?

Read More about the Palace on Wheels:

Related Posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *