Experience Agra – The City of Love with Palace on Wheels Train

Launched by the Railways of India, Palace on Wheels is a luxury train that takes tourists to different destinations of India. It was started with an aim to promote tourism in Rajasthan. The idea of this royal looking train was taken from the way the Maharajas of Rajasthan used to travel.

Route of the Palace on Wheels train

The train has a detailed itinerary of 8 days and 7 nights which includes the city of love – Agra. It is the last destination of this amazing journey around the country. It starts from the capital of the country – New Delhi and then goes over to Jaipur and other places of Rajasthan. The beauty and royalty of this train go very well with the ambiance of this place. Route map of Palace on Wheels shows all the destinations which are covered during the trip.

Route Map of Palace on Wheels

Agra – The City of Love

The city of Agra is famous all over the world for its white monument, the Taj Mahal. It is the symbol of love since the Mughal emperor, Shah Jahan made it in the memory of his wife, Mumtaz. Ever since then, this has been a beautiful token of love. People from all over the world come to appreciate the beauty of this monument which is made of white marble. Apart from it, there are a lot of other things that travelers can explore in Agra during their visit.

Attractions in Agra

Taj Mahal

The epitome of love, Taj Mahal is the main reason people visit this city. All these years, but this beautiful monument built during the Mughal era still mesmerizes people with its architecture. It was also one of the seven wonders of the world. Palace on Wheels train visits this city where guests can explore this miracle.

Also Read:  What Exactly is a Pre or Post Palace on Wheels Tour ?

Taj Mahal

Also Read: Palace on Wheels history

Fatehpur Sikri

Apart from the Taj Mahal, this is another marvel that is a must visit. It is made using red sandstone and was made under the rule of Mughal emperor Akbar. It is at a distance of about 37 km from Agra. The mosque of Fatehpur Sikri is very similar to the holy mosque in Mecca in terms of construction.
Fatehpur Sikri

Explore More: Palace on Wheels train interior

Agra Fort

It is another architecture that was made under the rule of Akbar as he chose Agra to be his capital. The construction of the fort took many years and had around 500 buildings in it. But they were later destroyed by the emperors who came after Akbar. Read this Agra Fort a Complete Guide that give you more information.

Agra Fort

View More: Cabins of Palace on Wheels train

Day Wise Train Itinerary

The train starts from New Delhi city from Safdarjung railway station. The passengers are required to arrive at 4.30 after which they are welcome by the staff and settled in their coaches. They are also served with a complimentary welcome drink once they are on the train. The train moves at 6.30 after which dinner is served on board.

The second day starts with the tour of the pink city, Jaipur. This day is dedicated to exploring the historical and cultural places of this city including UNESCO heritage sites. The guests have to return 6 PM to the train after which the dinner is served to everyone and journey continues.

Also Read:  Best Options for Train Travel Between Delhi and Agra

The third day is full of adventure as the day begins with an early morning wildlife safari in Ranthambore National park where you see wild animals like tigers, leopards, sloth bears etc in their natural habitat. After that, you return and have breakfast and lunch on board. In the evening, you reach Chittorgarh and visit the fort which is considered to be the largest fort in India.

Ranthambore National Park

The fourth day, the guests reach the city of lakes, Udaipur. You can visit the ancient palace and take a boat ride around it too. Return by 3 in the afternoon after having done some shopping and exploring the city. The journey then continues.

The fifth day is spent in the city of Jaisalmer and the tourists can appreciate the famous historic fort. Patwon ki Haveli is another highlight of this journey which is one of the largest mansion houses. This is one of the best days as you have lunch as well dinner at a 5 star and enjoy a camel ride in the Thar Desert.

Camel Ride Jaisalmer

Once everybody returns by 10 pm, the train moves on again to the next destination. The sixth day starts in Jodhpur as the guests explore the culture of this amazing place. The old forts and museums will take you on a cultural era with them. The train departs from here by early evening.

You reach Bharatpur bird sanctuary early morning on the seventh day. You can enjoy the sight of beautiful native as well as migratory birds here. Then you return to the train and depart towards the famous city of Agra. First, you visit the Agra Fort and have lunch ITC Mughal Hotel. Then you move on to see one of the Seven Wonders of the World – Taj Mahal. It is surely a delight to see its architecture.

Also Read:  Explore Wildlife Sanctuaries with Palace on Wheels Train

The last day which is the eighth day, the tourists land back in New Delhi and that is where the journey ends.

The main idea of the Indian luxury train is to explore the corners of Indian destinations and rest during the night in the royal coaches of the Palace on Wheels train.

If you are looking forward to being a part of this royal travel, then book your seat now!

More details about the Palace on Wheels:

Further Read: 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *